Traditional Mince Pies

This year I’ve decided to try Delia’s traditional mince pie recipe.  I thought it made sense as I’d already followed her recipe for the mincemeat and I do like to have a go at new things.  The ingredients were simple enough and the recipe was very easy to follow.  The main reason I liked it was becasue when Delia said it would make 24 pies, it really did make 24 pies.  So many times I’ve followed a recipe hoping for an abundance of cakes when I actually only end up with a few.

They turned out quite well anyway, the pastry is crisp and flaky, not what I’m used too I might add but very nice none the less.  I still have some mincemeat stored away in the cupboard so depending on how quickly these go down I might give Nigella’s recipe a try too.

You will need;

1¼ lb (560 g) mincemeat

12 oz (350 g) plain flour

3 oz (75 g) lard

3 oz (75 g) butter

pinch of salt

For the top:

a little milk

icing sugar

 Pre-heat the oven to gas mark 6, 400°F (200°C).

Make up the pastry by sifting the flour and salt into a mixing bowl and rubbing the fats into it until the mixture resembles fine crumbs. Then add just enough cold water to mix to a dough that leaves the bowl clean. Leave the pastry to rest in a polythene bag in the refrigerator for 20-30 minutes, then roll half of it out as thinly as possible and cut it into two dozen 3 inch (7.5 cm) rounds, gathering up the scraps and re-rolling. Then do the same with the other half of the pastry, this time using the 2½ inch (6 cm) cutter.

Now grease the patty tins lightly and line them with the larger rounds. Fill these with mincemeat to the level of the edges of the pastry. Dampen the edges of the smaller rounds of pastry with water and press them lightly into position to form lids, sealing the edges. Brush each one with milk and make three snips in the tops with a pair of scissors. Bake near the top of the oven for 25-30 minutes until light golden brown. Cool on a wire tray and sprinkle with icing sugar, I’ve added a bit of edible glitter too. When cool, store in an airtight container.

I’m going to be a very busy little elf this weekend as I have an awful lot of baking and making to do aswell as entertaining some very important guests that are staying with us.  It should be good fun and then on Sunday afternoon, my boyfriend and I have a date on the sofa,we’re going to put our feet up and watch Home Alone with a mince pie and some brandy butter.  And probably a bottle of wine, yum yum!  Have a good weekend. x

One thought on “Traditional Mince Pies

Leave a Reply

