What a beaut!

Happy Friday!

The weekend is almost here and to celebrate, I thought I’d share my first DIY project with you all.  You never know it might inspire you to dig out your toolbox, pick up a paintbrush and update a piece of you own furniture this bank holiday weekend.

A few months ago, whilst having a mooch about the Hope Direct furniture shop in Hulme,  two retro beautility chairs caught my eye.  They were pretty grubby looking but I knew they had potential and would make a great first project.  They were also an absolute bargain at only £3 each.  How could I say no.

It took me a while to decide what I was going to do with them but it gave me time to clean the thick layers of grime, remove the old black paint and sand them down.  A dirty job but someone had to do it!

At last they were ready to be transformed.  I had hoped to leave the legs bare and just varnish the wood but the black paint had stained them, so it was no good.  Instead I reached for the paint brush and gave them a good old lick of white undercoat and gloss.  I removed the old seat cover, it was just too dirty to bring back to life.  I scoured ebay for some cheap material and found a fab vintage, 197o’s, geometric fabric in yellow.  Once secured with my trusty staple gun, the chairs were ready to put back together again.

And here they are. Two little beauties, I absolutley love them.

Have a wonderful weekend! x

One thought on “What a beaut!

Leave a Reply

